Refugee Council of Australia
Colourful question marks

Information about temporary protection visas (TPVs) and Safe Haven Enterprise Visas (SHEVs)

What is a regional area?

The information about what is a regional area may change. To make sure you have the latest information, please check the Department of Home Affairs (formerly the Department of Immigration and Border Protection) website.

This is defined by law. From 27 October 2016, all States and territories are part of the SHEV Scheme. However, in each state and territory only certain areas are included in the ‘regional area’ for SHEV holders.

They include:

  • all of the Australian Capital Territory – from 27 October 2016
  • all of of the Northern Territory (including Darwin, Palmerston and Alice Springs) – from 12 December 2017, with any others taking effect from 27 October 2016
  • all of regional NSW (excluding Sydney, Newcastle, Central Coast and Wollongong) – from 1 July 2015. Additionally, postcodes 2320-2323 and 2415 commenced on 27 October 2016
  • all of regional Queensland (excluding greater Brisbane and Gold Coast) – from 27 October 2016
  • all of South Australia – from 27 October 2016
  • all of Tasmania – from 10 October 2015
  • many parts of Victoria– from 27 October 2016
  • most of Western Australia (excluding Perth and some areas in the Pilbara and Goldfields-Esperance regions) – from 27 October 2016.

There are things you need to think about before moving, such as whether or not the area suits you, your family and your situation.

Be a champion for refugee rights

Join our mailing list and be the first to receive active resources. We need you to show Australia cares about refugees.


  • Category

  • Topic