Refugee Council of Australia
Logo of Refugee Council of Australia
Home > About us > Our Team > Page 2

Our Team

RCOA Board

The Executive Board of RCOA consists of elected and appointed representatives from its broad membership base. Through its Board, RCOA has the benefit of drawing on a wide range of expertise and experience.


  • Jasmina Bajraktarevic-Hayward: President (STARTTS, Sydney)
  • Emeritus Professor William Maley AM: Vice-President (individual member, Canberra)
  • Kwame Selormey: Secretary (Melaleuca Refugee Centre, Darwin)
  • Frances Wade: Treasurer (individual member, Sydney)
  • Maya Cranitch AM: Chair (individual member, Sydney)
  • Phil Glendenning AM: Immediate Past President (Edmund Rice Centre for Justice and Community Education, Sydney)

Ordinary members

  • Ella Dixon (Migrant Resource Centre Northern Tasmania, Launceston)
  • Dr Caroline Fleay: Secretary (Centre for Human Rights Education, Curtin University, Perth)
  • John Roc (Australian Karen Organisation, Sydney)
  • Dr Melika Sheikh-Eldin (AMES Australia, Melbourne)
  • Joseph Youhana (Brotherhood of St Laurence, Melbourne)

Board members serve two-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. Ten of the board members (President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, five Organisational Member representatives, an Individual Member representative) are elected by RCOA members, with five members elected at each Annual General Meeting. The remaining Board members (up to six) are co-opted, also for two-year terms, in accordance with RCOA’s consitution.

Guide for board candidates
Size : 514.2 kB Format : PDF
Size : 100.8 kB Format : PDF


Be a champion for refugee rights

Join our mailing list and be the first to receive active resources. We need you to show Australia cares about refugees.


  • Category

  • Topic

Recent Posts