Share thisEmail this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on RedditPrint this page


The Executive Board of RCOA consists of elected and appointed representatives from its broad membership base. Through its Board, RCOA has the benefit of drawing on a wide range of expertise and experience.


  • Phil Glendenning – President (Edmund Rice Centre for Justice and Community Education, Sydney)
  • Professor William Maley AM – Vice-President (individual member, Canberra)
  • Dr Ali Nur – Secretary (individual member, Darwin)
  • Adrian Graham – Treasurer (individual member, Sydney)
  • Lis de Vries – Chair (individual member, Melbourne)

Ordinary members

  • Maya Cranitch (individual member, Sydney)
  • Ella Dixon (Migrant Resource Centre Northern Tasmania Inc)
  • Dr Caroline Fleay (individual member, Perth)
  • Abdul Karim Hekmat (Cosmopolitan Civil Societies Research Centre, University of Technology Sydney)
  • Ruth Jacobs (Justice for Refugees SA Adelaide)
  • Beata Ostapiej-Piatkowski (MCS Romero Centre)
  • Marc Purcell (Australian Council for International Development (ACFID) ACT)
  • John Roc (Australian Karen Organisation, Sydney)
  • Jenny Semple (individual member, Melbourne)
  • Dr Melika Sheikh-Eldin (AMES Victoria)

Board members serve two-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. Ten of the board members (President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, five Organisational Member representatives, an Individual Member representative) are elected by RCOA members, with five members elected at each Annual General Meeting. The remaining Board members (up to six) are co-opted, also for two-year terms, in accordance with RCOA’s constitution.


The Council operates with a small staff:

Paul Power                 – Chief Executive Officer (Sydney)

Tim O’Connor            – Communications Director (Sydney)

Ewan Isbister             – Fundraising Strategist (Sydney)

Laura Stacey               – Media and Campaign Officer (Melbourne)

Rebecca Langton       – Membership Officer (Sydney)

Vijhai Utheyan           – Administration Assistant (Sydney)

Georgie McGrillen     – Project Manager (Sydney)

Joyce Chia                   – Director of Policy (Melbourne)

Rebecca Eckard         – Senior Policy Officer (Melbourne)

Louise Olliff                – Senior Policy Officer (Melbourne)

Asher Hirsch               – Policy Officer (Melbourne)

Michelle Ferns          – Project Officer (Melbourne)

Sahar Okhovat           – Policy Officer (Sydney)

Shukufa Tahiri           – Policy Assistant (Sydney)

Martyn Green             – Accounting Officer (Sydney)

Eileen Wahab             – Projects Coordinator (Sydney)

Deena Yako                 – Face to Face schools coordinator (Sydney)

Zamera Shariffie        – Face to Face schools coordinator (Melbourne)

Effie Mitchell              – General Manager (Sydney)

Contact details for RCOA offices can be found here.


Last updated May 2017

get involved

The Refugee Council of Australia is small, not-for-profit organisation and relies on public financial support
to continue its vital work in research, education and advocacy. Donations to the RCOA are tax-deductible.

To make a online donation by credit card using our secure donations system.

keeping you informed with the news

To stay informed with current news and events with the Refugee
Council Of Australia, fill out the form below!